Regrets in Life

We hear it all the time – especially us millennials: you’re going to regret that. 

We’ll regret the tattoos we get and the places we go and the money we spend and the people we date and the events we attend.

But I’ve discovered that it’s the things in my life that I didn’t do that I regret the most.

 

I regret not finishing the application process to the school of my dreams because I was too scared to leave my friends behind.

I regret not putting my writing out in the world sooner, for fear of rejection.

I regret the time and effort that I wasted on the things that never brought me joy.

There comes a time in our lives when we need to decide whether it’s really better to be safe than sorry. Is it really better to continue in an old routine, simply daydreaming about what we really want to be doing with our lives, rather than going out in the world and doing it?

Nobody said it was easy. Nobody said that it was going to be pretty. Nobody said we would instantly see results.

But hard work pays off. 

It’s going to be hard and ugly and it may seem like nothing is coming out of the effort we are putting forth, but I promise that is not the case.

I’d rather see how far my dreams can go than regret never acting on them.

Some Inspiration:

  1. J K Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was rejected 12 times and she was told “don’t quit your day job”.
  2. It took Lin Manuel Miranda a whole year to write the first song for his musical Hamilton: An American Musical and another year to write the second song.
  3. Star Wars (1977)Titanic (1997), & Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) were all thought to become huge flops before they hit theaters.

So – whether you’ve already been rejected, taking a little longer than you thought you would, or people are telling you what you’re creating isn’t going to be a success:

KEEP GOING!! 

“You only fail when you stop trying”

-anonymous

Image Source: http://likesuccess.com/img4726208

Leave a Reply

