Simple Things

I had one of the best days of my summer vacation today.

I woke at 9am (which is totally unusual because if you know me, you know I’m not ever awake before noon) and got ready to pick up one of my best friends.

I got her and we went to our local Starbucks, purchased the largest drinks we could, and sat down in the comfiest chairs we could find. For over an hour we just sat and talked. We talked about our current lives, our plans for the future, and how delicious our food was (because come on, cinnamon coffee cake is the best thing in the world).

Afterwards, we drove around town trying to find a specific type of shop so I could buy more crystals and other natural remedies. When our search dug up a whole lot of nothing, we swung by the library and combed the shelves for anything of interest.

After picking some books, I took her back to her house where we ate and I read to her two nieces (ages 4 & 2). We had more coffee and read our own books as the rain poured down outside.

Everything was perfect.

It’s the little things in life that we need to cling on to. The little moments that most people wouldn’t deem as ‘fun’ or ‘exciting’.

Some people dream of their summer days consisting of lake trips spent on a boat or luxurious vacations on a beach.

Mine?

I’d gladly spend every day having coffee dates and reading to two of the cutest kids I know.

It’s the small things people. It really is.

“I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”                                                              -Kurt Vonnegut

 

Image Source: http://blog.uwdecals.com/blog/2013/1/13/happy-sunday.html

Leave a Reply

